Thursday, September 30, 2004

ICANN - solve your domain names issues

Add to Delicious Digg this links to this post -

Just got a big issue to solve.

Jazar.net has been registered with Linkstream.net . Linkstream.net is a hosting provider which kept quite a good record when I signed up with them last year.

Unfortunately, it seems that everybody there has decided to go on holiday, and for a long long time:

  • - they don't answer emails anymore -
  • - their ticket system has expired -
  • - downtime is close to 30%! -

very scary!

I have until December to find out how to transfer my domain name to a new host, or bye bye Jazar. Here we go :

1) Do a whois to find out who Jazar has registered the domain name with - registrar companies (an advice: don't do what I did! don't register your domain name with your hosting company, or you take the risk to go through a lot of hassle, as illustrated here - go directly to a registrar (http://www.000domains.com for instance) and then ask them to point your domain name to your host - choose always the safe side - don't forget that your email addresses are linked to the domain name too!)

=> I did a whois on www.jazar.net, and found out that Linkstream.net had registered Jazar.net with 000domains.com. Great, now you contact them to let them know that you are not happy at all, really not happy at all with this linkstream.net!

2)Contact the registrar directly to complain about your hosting company.
Here is what they replied (within 1 hour):


In order to make any changes (nameserver change, ownership change) to
the domain record using our Account Manager, you need to know the
username/password for a domain name. The login information can only be
emailed to the contact email address on the record.

Please note that the person displayed in the domain record as
owner/admin is considered to be the owner/admin of a domain name.
Unfortunately there is not a way for us to make a change in the domain
record without the authorization of the person in the record, or by
UDRP decision, or by court order.

According to our records, Linkstream Technologies, LLC
is listed as the owner/admin of JAZAR.NET. The fastest way to solve
this issue is to contact Linkstream Technologies, LLC
directly. If that person/company is not cooperating and if you have a
claim on the domain name through a trademark or copyright, you can file
a dispute through Uniform Dispute Resolution Policy (UDRP) of ICANN.
You can find more info about this at http://www.icann.org/udrp

For any other type of dispute, you can file a law suit against that
person in a court that has jurisdiction.

We, as the registrar, cannot be part of the disputes. However, when we
are notified of a UDRP dispute, or a law suit, we will place the domain
in locked status until a decision is reached. If the decision is in
favor the Complainant, then we can make the ownership transfer.

Since contact information for linkstream.net is invalid (the phone
number is incorrect) I will send a warning for correction of domain
record. As indicated in the registration agreement, if no action is
taken in 15 days, we will shutdown linkstream.net.


Great! Ok, let's see the ICANN website.

3)
I have just sent an email to them explaining what the situation was ... Let's see their response tomorrow ...


5 Comments:

At 1:03 AM, Blogger frog-web said...

Mr Jazar, I just went onto linkstream.net ... and guess what??? I clicked on "Support", since I posted a ticket 2 months ago ...(no answers).

http://www.linkstream.net/support/

The response page is a blank page with one sentence:
ERROR: Invalid License Key (Time Period Expired)

Now I understand why we don't get anymore support from these guys. It sucks.

Next Blog should be on the best hosting company !
Here is a starting point: http://www.upperhost.com/

Bye,

frog-web.com

 
At 4:54 PM, Anonymous Anonymous said...

Hello
I'm a beginner, but I wish meet you in order to create a new interational company. could you give me any advice?
thank's

 
At 5:15 PM, Blogger Emmanuel Idé said...

Please contact Jazar through the contact form, leaving us with you details so that we can get in touch with you.

Contact form

 
At 6:07 AM, Anonymous Anonymous said...

Linkstream is still ripping me off for $15 per month even though i have repeatedly called and cancelled my account. My bank is of little help, so i will have to close the account to stop this fraud. Mr Edward French is a crook and a liar.

 
At 9:57 AM, Blogger Emmanuel Idé said...

there is no much to do about it I am afraid! this is amazing how you can get away with some things ...

We have been contacted by linkstream 1 month ago, telling us that the account would be closed at the end of November. The site is still up there : www.jazar.net!

ICANN was little help, and you have 2 solutions really:
1) hire a lawyer and sue them.
2) Just cancel your direct debit.

Good luck!

 

Post a Comment

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home